Academic Calendar

6_library_statue_2

Summer 2018 Term I

Classes start May 7 Monday
Last day to drop/add May 8 Tuesday
Last day to withdraw May 17 Thursday
Last day of classes May 25 Friday
Degree date Aug. 7 Tuesday

Summer 2018 Term II

Classes start May 29 Tuesday
Last day to drop/add May 31 Thursday
Last day to apply for degree June 6 Wednesday
Last day to withdraw June 18 Monday
Last day of classes July 2 Monday
Degree date Aug. 7 Tuesday

Summer 2018 Ten-Week Term

Classes start May 29 Tuesday
Last day to drop/add June 1 Friday
Independence Day holiday July 4 Wednesday
Last day to withdraw July 10 Tuesday
Last day of classes/degree date Aug. 7 Tuesday

Summer 2018 Term III

Classes start July 3 Tuesday
Independence Day Holiday July 4 Wednesday
Last day to drop/add July 6 Friday
Last day to withdraw July 24 Tuesday
Last day of classes/degree date Aug. 7 Tuesday

Speed Summer 2018 Term

Classes start May 14 Monday
Last day to drop/add May 17 Thursday
Memorial Day May 28 Monday
Last day to withdraw June 22 Friday
Independence Day holiday July 4 Wednesday
Last day of classes July 20 Friday
Final exam period July 23-26 Mon-Thurs
Degree date Aug. 7 Tuesday

Kent Summer 2018 Term

Classes start May 7 Monday
Last day to drop/add May 11 Thursday
Memorial Day May 28 Monday
Last day to withdraw June 20 Wednesday
Independence Day holiday July 4 Wednesday
Last day of classes July 21 Saturday
Degree date Aug. 7 Tuesday

Nursing Summer 2018 Term

Classes start May 16 Wednesday
Last day to drop/add May 21 Monday
Memorial Day May 28 Monday
Independence Day holiday July 4 Wednesday
Last day to withdraw June 26 Tuesday
Last day of classes July 24 Tuesday
Degree Date August 7 Tuesday

Fall 2018

Classes start August 20 Monday
Last day to add/drop a course August 24 Friday
Labor Day holiday September 3 Monday
Mid-Term Break October 8-9 Monday, Tuesday
Last day to withdraw October 19 Friday
Thanksgiving holiday Nov. 21-25 Wednesday-Sunday
Last day of classes December 3 Monday
Reading day December 4 Tuesday
Final examinations December 5-11 Wednesday - Tuesday
Degree date December 11 Tuesday
December commencement December 14 Friday

Winter 2018 

Classes Start December 12 Wednesday
Last day to drop/add December 13 Thursday
Last day to Withdraw December 21 Friday
Christmas Holiday December 25 Tuesday
Last day of classes January 3 Thursday

Spring 2019

Classes start January 7 Monday
last day to add/drop a course January 11 Friday
Martin Luther King, Jr. holiday January 21 Monday
Last day to withdraw March 6 Wednesday
Spring break March 11-17 Monday-Sunday
Last day of classes April 22 Monday
Reading day April 23 Tuesday
Final examinations April 24-30 Wednesday-Tuesday
Degree date May 11 Saturday
May Commencement May 11 Saturday (Date is tentative)

The University reserves the right to change the announced academic calendar without prior notice.

Policy on Work-Restricted Religious Holy Days

Federal law and university policy prohibit discrimination on the basis of religious belief. It is the policy of the University of Louisville to accommodate students, faculty, and staff who observe religious work-restricted holy days. Students who observe work-restricted religious holy days must be allowed to do so without jeopardizing their academic standing in any course. Faculty are obliged to accommodate students’ request(s) for adjustments in coursework on the grounds of religious observance, provided that the student(s) make such request(s) in writing during the first two (2) weeks of term.

A calendar of typical work-restricted holy days is available through the Office of Diversity. Information about specific holidays is also available by phone from the Office of the Provost at (502) 852-6153.