Academic Calendar

6_library_statue_2

2020-2021 Academic Calendars by Term 

Summer 2020

Summer 2020 Term I

Classes start May 11 Monday
Last day to drop/add May 12 Tuesday
Last day to withdraw May 21 Thursday
Memorial Day Holiday May 25 Monday
Last day of classes June 1 Monday
Degree date August 11 Tuesday

Summer 2020 Term II

Classes start June 2 Tuesday
Last day to drop/add June 4 Thursday
Last day to withdraw June 22 Monday
Independence Day Holiday July 3 Friday
Last day of classes July 7 Tuesday
Degree date August 11 Tuesday

Summer 2020 Ten-Week Term

Classes start June 2 Tuesday
Last day to drop/add June 5 Friday
Independence Day holiday July 3 Friday
Last day to withdraw July 15 Wednesday
Last day of classes/degree date August 11 Tuesday

Summer 2020 Term III

Classes start July 8 Wednesday
Last day to drop/add July 10 Friday
Last day to withdraw July 28 Tuesday
Last day of classes/degree date August 11 Tuesday

J.B. Speed School of Engineering Summer 2020 Term

Classes start May 11 Monday
Last day to drop/add May 14 Thursday
Memorial Day holiday May 25 Monday
Last day to withdraw June 19 Friday
Independence Day holiday July 3 Friday
Last day of classes July 17 Friday
Final exam period July 20-23 Monday-Thursday
Degree date August 11 Tuesday

Kent School of Social Work Summer 2020 Term

Classes start May 11 Monday
Last day to drop/add May 14 Thursday
Memorial Day holiday May 25 Monday
Last day to withdraw June 24 Wednesday
Independence Day holiday July 3 Friday
Last day of classes July 25 Saturday
Degree date August 11 Tuesday

School of Nursing Summer 2020 Term

Classes start May 20 Wednesday
Memorial Day holiday May 25 Monday
Last day to drop/add May 26 Tuesday
Last day to withdraw June 30 Tuesday
Independence Day holiday July 3 Friday
Last day of classes July 28 Tuesday
Degree Date August 11 Tuesday

Fall 2020

Regular Full-Term Courses
Classes start August 17 Monday
Last day to add/drop a course August 21 Friday
Last day to withdraw October 16 Friday
Last day of classes December 1 Tuesday
Reading day December 2 Wednesday
Final examinations December 3-9 Thursday-Wednesday
First Half-Term Courses
Classes Start August 17 Monday
Last day to add/drop August 19 Wednesday
Last day to withdraw September 15 Tuesday
Last day of classes/final exam (if needed) October 7 Wednesday
Second Half-Term Classes
Classes start October 8 Thursday
Last day to add/drop October 12 Monday
Last day to withdraw November 6 Friday
Last day of classes/final exam (if needed) December 1 Tuesday
Holidays, Degree Date, and Commencement
Labor Day holiday September 7 Monday
Fall Break October 5-6 Monday-Tuesday
Presidential election November 3 Tuesday
Thanksgiving break November 25-29 Wednesday-Sunday
Degree date December 11 Friday
December commencement December 11 (subject to venue availability) Friday

Winter 2020-21

Classes Start December 14 Monday
Last day to drop/add December 15 Tuesday
Last day to withdraw December 24 Thursday
Christmas Holiday December 25 Friday
Last day of classes January 4 Monday
Final exam (if needed) January 5 Tuesday

Spring 2021

Regular Full-Term Courses
Classes start January 6 Wednesday
Last day to add/drop a course January 12 Tuesday
Last day to withdraw March 5 Friday
Last day of classes April 21 Wednesday
Reading day April 22 Thursday
Final examinations April 23-29 Friday-Thursday
First Half-Term Courses
Classes Start January 6 Wednesday
Last day to add/drop January 8 Friday
Last day to withdraw February 4 Thursday
Last day of classes/final exam (if needed) February 24 Wednesday
Second Half-Term Classes
Classes start February 25 Thursday
Last day to add/drop March 1 Monday
Last day to withdraw April 1 Thursday
Last day of classes/final exam (if needed) April 21 Wednesday
Holidays, Degree Date, and Commencement
Martin Luther King holiday January 18 Monday
Spring Break March 8-14 Monday-Sunday
Derby May 1 Saturday
Degree date May 8 Friday
Spring commencement May 8 (subject to venue availability) Saturday

 Note: The University reserves the right to change the announced academic calendar without prior notice.

Policy on Work-Restricted Religious Holy Days

Federal law and University policy prohibit discrimination on the basis of religious belief. It is the policy of the University of Louisville to accommodate students, faculty, and staff who observe religious work-restricted holy days. Students who observe work-restricted religious holy days must be allowed to do so without jeopardizing their academic standing in any course. Faculty are obliged to accommodate students’ request(s) for adjustments in course work on the grounds of religious observance, provided that the student(s) make such request(s) in writing during the first two (2) weeks of term.

Deans and department chairs must investigate and resolve student complaints arising from alleged faculty failure to make reasonable accommodation under these guidelines. 

A calendar of typical work-restricted holy days is available through the Office of Diversity & Equity. Information about specific holidays is also available by phone from the Office of the Provost at (502) 852-6153.